hamburger
close
Case Study Rheinbahn AG

Making short work of procuring and handling construction works and services

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study Rheinbahn AG

Rheinbahn AG has put its procurement process on a new footing. Since the mobility group is using our AVA and SRM applications, procurement processes have greatly accelerated. Since 2009, the procurement process in civil engineering below the threshold specified by the German Construction Contract Procedures is taking place electronically – starting with the creation of item lists, then sending out a request to suppliers, creating the price comparison list through to the awarding of contract and the release of a purchase order in SAP.

For a long time, paper was one of the most important storage media of Rheinbahn purchasing. The responsible structural engineers created large item lists, sometimes with up to three-digit item lines. For that purpose the engineers used classic AVA software (for tendering, awarding and billing of construction works). In the end, the purchasing department had to print the item list or save it on a disc and send it by mail since their software was neither integrated into the SAP ERP-system of Rheinbahn nor were suppliers electronically connected over a platform.

Complex bid evaluation

Suppliers used to return their offers to Rheinbahn on paper. This presented the purchasing department with another problem: The price comparison list was created manually. “This was a very tedious and time-consuming process,” said Klaus Rabe, who was project manager at that time and is area manager for controlling / finance/ and purchasing today. Every year around a 100 calls for tender were sent to a varying circle of suppliers. Depending on the construction project, there may be up to 25 bidders.

Streamlined process

Things have changed now. As usual, the departments still create the item list, but electronically by using our FUTURA AVA-application, based on the GAEB standard and with an ordering number structure. That was new at Rheinbahn. This transition did cause some trouble, as Klaus Rabe concedes. The reason: First, the existing data had to be checked for consistency. “But we had to do this so that all technicians, purchasers and suppliers, speak a common language”, Klaus Rabe justifies this step. The item list is electronically conveyed to the purchaser, who initiates the inquiry process on the side of the supplier by using the same application. And now – as soon as offers arrive via the connected FUTURA cloud – the purchasing department can create a price comparison list virtually without effort – with a single click.

Ever since we are using the AVA and SRM applications made by Futura Solutions, the entire procurement process is clearly faster and better structured. This represents a great advantage for our company.

A key requirement for the new AVA application: The procurement and handling of construction and maintenance works was supposed to be deeply embedded into the SAP ERP-system of Rheinbahn. Once the Rheinbahn purchasers release a tender electronically, a purchase requisition is automatically triggered in SAP. After the awarding all the items and details of the item list are transferred as an order to the SAP module (MM) Material Management. In addition, suppliers receive the order with the item list from the SAP ERP-system electronically via the FUTURA cloud. The Benefit: They can record their services rendered online via FUTURA. That saves a lot of time and accelerates the accounting process – at a much higher transparency rate.

Process transparency

Since then, Rheinbahn has accomplished a considerable number of bidding rounds in terms construction works – in the end there were no reductions to the number of bidders related to the new electronic tendering process. Rheinbahn is also handling services and framework agreements with FUTURA SRM. Unplanned maintenance is no longer a thorn in the flesh: In the case of blanket orders, suppliers submit clear activity recordings with priced items from the master contract and verifiable quantities so that surprises no longer occur during settlement.

Highlights

  • SAP-integrated handling of maintenance works

    Acceleration of maintenance processes by means of interconnecting FUTURA® SRM and SAP

  • Convenient and simplified tendering process

    Automated onboarding of suppliers and price comparison lists

  • Process transparency in unplanned maintenance works

    Autonomous online billing by suppliers due to access to their framework contracts

  • Audit proof documentation in SAP

    High data quality in SAP, all details are automatically conveyed FUTURA® to SAP

Project key data
  • Task Optimization of a digitized AVA process
  • Solution SAP-integrated procurement processes around planning, purchasing and billing, based on the GAEB standard
  • Implementation Roll out 2009 / Implementation period about 12 months
  • Type of trade Transport / logistics
  • About Rheinbahn Germany's fifth largest local public transportation company / a total of 214, 9 million passengers transported by buses and trains (as of 2010) / 2,000 employees.

Your direct line to us

A FUTURA-expert will gladly answer your questions
+49 611 33 460 300

Message

More information needed? Please don´t hesitate to contact us

User help

You need help? Our support-team will help you gladly
+49 611 33 460 460

hamburger
close
Case Study Rheinbahn AG

Kurzer Prozess bei der Beschaffung von Bau- und Dienstleistungen

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study Rheinbahn AG

Seitdem die Rheinbahn AG mit FUTURA® AVA und FUTURA® SRM ihre Einkaufsprozesse auf neue Füße gestellt hat, haben sich die Beschaffungsvorgänge erheblich beschleunigt. Seit 2009 vollzieht sich der Beschaffungsprozess im Bauwesen unterhalb des VOB-Schwellenwertes auf elektronischem Weg – vom Erstellen der Leistungsverzeichnisse über Anfragen bei Lieferanten bis zum Preisspiegel sowie der Vergabe und dem Auslösen einer Bestellung in SAP.

Lange Zeit war auch im Einkauf der Rheinbahn Papier einer der wichtigsten Datenträger. Die verantwortlichen Bautechniker in den Fachabteilungen der Rheinbahn erstellten die Leistungsverzeichnisse (LVs), deren Anzahl an Positionen schon mal dreistellig ausfallen kann. Dafür nutzten sie zwar eine klassische AVA-Software (Ausschreibung, Vergabe und Abrechnung von Bauleistungen). Doch da diese Lösung weder ins SAP ERP-System der Rheinbahn integriert noch die Lieferanten elektronisch über eine Plattform angeschlossen waren, musste der Einkauf die Leistungsverzeichnisse am Ende auf Papier drucken oder auf CD-Rom speichern und per Post an die jeweiligen Lieferanten verschicken.

Aufwendige Angebotsauswertung

Ebenso schickten die Anbieter ihre Angebote auf Papier zurück zur Rheinbahn. Das bereitete dem Einkauf ein weiteres Problem: Der Preisspiegel wurde manuell erstellt. „Das war ein sehr umständliches und zeitraubendes Verfahren“, sagt Klaus Rabe, der damalige Projektleiter und heutige Bereichsleiter Controlling, Finanzen und Einkauf. Alljährlich gingen über 100 Ausschreibungen an einen unterschiedlich großen Kreis von Lieferanten mit je nach Baumaßnahme bis zu 25 Anbietern.

Gestraffter Beschaffungsprozess

Das läuft jetzt anders. Die Fachabteilungen erstellen wie gehabt die erforderlichen Leistungsverzeichnisse, nun aber eben elektronisch mit der FUTURA AVA-Lösung und im GAEB-Standard mit einer OZ-Struktur. Das gab es vorher nicht bei der Rheinbahn. Diese Umstellung kostete zwar einige Mühe, wie Klaus Rabe einräumt. Grund: Die vorhandenen Daten mussten zunächst auf Konsistenz überprüft werden. „Aber wir mussten das machen, damit alle, Techniker, Einkäufer und Lieferanten, eine gemeinsame Sprache sprechen“, begründet Klaus Rabe diesen Schritt. Die Leistungsverzeichnisse gehen ebenfalls auf elektronischem Weg an den Einkauf, der mit der gleichen Lösung den Anfrageprozess bei den Lieferanten in Gang setzt. Und sobald die Angebote über die angebundene FUTURA-Cloud eintreffen, erstellt der Einkauf nunmehr praktisch mühelos den Preisspiegel – per Mausklick.

Seit wir die AVA- und SRM-Lösungen von Futura Solutions im Einsatz haben, ist der gesamte Beschaffungsprozess deutlich strukturierter und schneller. Für unser Unternehmen bedeutet das einen enormen Vorteil.

Eine zentrale Anforderung an die neue AVA-Lösung: Die Beschaffung und Abwicklung von Bau- und Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen sollte tief in das SAP ERP-System der Rheinbahn integriert sein. Sobald die Einkäufer der Rheinbahn eine Ausschreibung elektronisch freischalten, wird in SAP automatisch eine BANF ausgelöst. Nach der Vergabe werden dann sämtliche Positionen und Details des Leistungsverzeichnisses als Bestellung ins SAP-Modul (MM-SRV) Material Management übertragen. Darüber hinaus erhalten die Lieferanten die Bestellung mit dem Leistungsverzeichnis nun auch elektronisch aus dem SAP ERP-System heraus über die FUTURA-Cloud. Der Vorteil: Sie können ihre Leistungserfassungen online über FUTURA vornehmen. Das spart enorm viel Zeit, beschleunigt den Abrechnungsprozess – bei deutlich höherer Transparenz.

Transparenz bei der Dienstleistungsabwicklung

Inzwischen hat die Rheinbahn zahlreiche Ausschreibungsrunden in Sachen Bauleistungen hinter sich – und es hat sich herausgestellt, dass es keinerlei Bieterkreis-Einschränkungen bezogen auf den neuen elektronischen Ausschreibungsprozess gab. Auch Dienstleistungen und Rahmenverträge wickelt die Rheinbahn mit FUTURA SRM ab. Ungeplante Instandhaltungen sind nun kein Dorn mehr im Auge: Zu Limit-Bestellungen kommen von den Lieferanten klare Leistungserfassungen mit bepreisten Positionen aus dem Rahmenvertrag und überprüfbaren Mengen, so dass mit der Abrechnung keine Überraschungen mehr auftreten.

Highlights

  • SAP integrierte Instandhaltungsabwicklung

    Beschleunigung der Instandhaltungsabwicklung durch die Anbindung von FUTURA SRM an SAP

  • Komfortabler und vereinfachter Angebotsprozess

    Automatisiertes Onboarding der Lieferanten sowie automatisierte Preisspiegel

  • Prozesstransparenz bei ungeplanten Instandhaltungen

    Selbstständige Online-Abrechnung durch die Lieferanten unter Zugriff auf ihre Rahmenverträge

  • Revisionssichere Dokumentation in SAP

    Hohe Datenqualität in SAP, sämtliche Details werden aus FUTURA automatisiert in SAP angelegt

Projekt-Eckdaten
  • Aufgabe Optimierung eines digital gestützten AVA-Prozesses
  • Lösung SAP-integrierte Beschaffungsprozesse rund um Planung, Einkauf, Abrechnung auf Basis des GAEB-Standards
  • Einführung Produktivstart 2009 / Einführungszeitraum ca. 12 Monate
  • Branche Transport / Logistik
  • Über die Rheinbahn AG Fünftgrößtes Nahverkehrsunternehmen Deutschlands / insgesamt 214, 9 Mio. in Bussen und Bahnen beförderte Fahrgäste (Stand 2010) / 2.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

 

 

Case Study  Rheinbahn
Kurzer Prozess bei der Beschaffung und Abwicklung von Bau- und Dienstleistungen

-> Case Study herunterladen (PDF)

Kurzer Draht zu uns

Weitere Informationen gewünscht? Kontaktieren Sie uns
+49 611 33 460 300

Rückruf-Service

Ein FUTURA-Experte beantwortet gerne Ihre Fragen

1 / 6

Anwender-Support

Sie benötigen Unterstützung? Unser Support-Team hilft gerne weiter
+49 611 33 460 460