hamburger
close
Case Study Frankfurt Trade Fair

SAP Integrated External Service Management at the Flick of a Switch

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study Messe Frankfurt

The Frankfurt Trade Fair handles the ordering and billing of its service assignments by using the cloud-based Futura SRM. Thanks to its deep SAP integration, the application accelerates the management of external services and simplifies the work related to billing and auditing processes.

By means of a few numbers Jutta Burckhardt illustrates the importance of service purchasing for the Frankfurt Trade Fair. As the SAP coordinator, Mrs. Burckhardt is working at the interface between the purchasing and the IT department. Approximately 40.000 exhibitors from a wide variety of branches are coming to Frankfurt every year in order to present new products and the newest innovations.

Factor of success: Supplier connection

They must be provided with services like fair stands and their setup, installation of lighting systems, floor fitting in the fair halls, spotlights, signposts for the halls, hostesses or security services – and all that on a surface area of approximately 356,000 sqm and an additional 96,000 sqm of open-air space. As a whole, the procurement of services makes a difference of about 175 millions of Euro every year – in a large part those are unplanned services. There are various reasons for this: some exhibitors suddenly withdraw from their agreement others want a larger fair stand, or more spotlights than originally planned. “We can therefore only plan with rough figures when commissioning”, says Jutta Burckhardt.

Location-independent processing of orders

While procurement department of the Frankfurt Trade Fair was still using a self-made software solution, the handling of orders was complicated and time consuming recollects Mrs. Burkhardt. “Moreover the capacity of the former system was limited”. Since an expansion would have been expensive, Messe Frankfurt opted for FUTURA Solutions whose cloud-based application has been quite convincing: To use the platform, purchasing agents and suppliers need only an internet access and a browser. Users and suppliers, both appreciate the solution’s easy and clearly arranged user interface. Via cloud, suppliers of the Frankfurt Trade Fair can communicate and transact their services online. Thus, one can access orders launched in SAP wherever there’s an internet access via the FUTURA cloud.

The flexible handling of orders and the enormous facilitation of work due to its deep SAP integration were the main reasons for our decision in favor of FUTURA SRM.

For each order, suppliers can enter their activity recordings or the measurement of services rendered online in FUTURA. For this purpose, they refer to the items of their framework contract, which specifies the price for every single service item. Likewise, the contracting authorities in the specialist department can verify and revise the already implemented services and also have them cleared online. Until approval, there can be as many revision loops as necessary.

Expendable auditing

The billing too has been highly simplified and accelerated. “Because the services settled in the framework contract are taken over with fixed prices, only quantity checks have to be made” Mrs. Burkhardt points this out as the great advantage of service management integrated into SAP. This means that the respective specialist department (requester of a service) now only has to check whether the quantity schedules/measurements submitted online are correct, for instance the square meters of fitted floor or the amount of delivered spotlights. As soon as the activity recordings are enabled, corresponding activity entry sheet are being automatically created and conveyed to a credit procedure by the SAP system of the Frankfurt Trade Fair. Suppliers and service providers thus receive their money within a very short period of time – as opposed to earlier, when it took a few weeks because the paperwork had to run through many stations and departments. “This means enormous time saving in the purchasing and billing process” highlights the SAP coordinator.

Highlights

  • Supplier-Self-Service

    Simple supplier connection by means of automatic onboarding

  • Mobile order processing

    Service providers need only an internet access / Online verification of activity recordings

  • Audit-proof billing and verification process

    Automatic creation of service entry sheet in SAP

  • Accurate reduction of purchase commitments for a better fund release

    Audit is not required / Enabling of a quick credit procedure

Project key data
  • Task Cloud-based management of services with a yearly procurement volume of 175 million of Euros and comprehensive integration into the SAP ERP-system with different modules
  • Solution Implementation of FUTURA® SRM for a cloud-based, mobile order processing and online verification of activity recordings / Enabling of a credit procedure
  • Implementation Roll-out in 2009 / Implementation period 4 weeks
  • Type of trade Trade fair
  • About Messe Frankfurt The largest German fair construction company with 538 million euros in sales (as of 2012) and 1,891 employees worldwide / global network of 28 subsidiaries and around 50 international distribution partners / shareholders are the city of Frankfurt (60 percent) and the state of Hesse (40 percent).

Your direct line to us

More information needed? Please don´t hesitate to contact us
+49 611 33 460 300

Call-Back service

A FUTURA-expert will gladly answer your questions

User help

You need help? Our support-team will help you gladly
+49 611 33 460 460

hamburger
close
Case Study Messe Frankfurt

SAP-integrierte Dienstleistungsabwicklung auf Knopfdruck

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study Messe Frankfurt

Die Bestellung und Abrechnung ihrer Dienstleistungsaufträge über die Cloud-basierte Lösung FUTURA SRM bringt dank der tiefen SAP-Integration Tempo in die Dienstleistungsabwicklung – und der Messe Frankfurt eine enorme Arbeitserleichterung in Form eines revisionssicheren Abrechnungs- und Prüfungsprozesses.

Wie bedeutend der Einkauf von Dienstleistungen bei der Messe Frankfurt ist, verdeutlicht Jutta Burckhardt anhand weniger Zahlen. Als SAP-Koordinatorin sitzt sie bei der Messe Frankfurt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Einkauf und IT. Rund 40.000 Aussteller der unterschiedlichsten Branchen kommen alljährlich nach Frankfurt, um ihren Kunden in zehn Hallen neue Produkte und Innovationen zu präsentieren.

Erfolgsfaktor Lieferantenanbindung

Für sie müssen Dienstleistungen beschafft werden, ob Messestände und ihr Aufbau, die Installation von Lichtanlagen, das Verlegen von Teppichen in den Messehallen, Strahler, Schilder für die Hallen, Hostessen oder Sicherheitsdienste – und das auf rund 356.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche und zusätzlich 96.000 qm Freigelände. Insgesamt schlägt die Beschaffung von Dienstleistungen bei der Messe alljährlich mit rund 175 Mio. Euro zu Buche – viele davon jedoch ungeplant. Die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig: Aussteller ziehen überraschend ihre Zusage zurück, andere wollen einen größeren Stand oder mehr Strahler als geplant haben. „Wir können bei Beauftragungen daher nur mit groben Zahlen planen“, sagt Jutta Burckhardt.

Ortsunabhängige Auftragsbearbeitung

Mit der bis dato genutzten IT-Eigenentwicklung war die Abwicklung der Aufträge kompliziert und zeitraubend, erinnert sich Jutta Burckhardt. „Außerdem war die Leistungsfähigkeit des Altsystems begrenzt.“ Da eine Erweiterung sehr aufwendig geworden wäre, entschied sich die Messe Frankfurt für Futura Solutions, deren Cloud-basierte Lösung überzeugte: Für die FUTURA-Cloud benötigen Einkäufer und Lieferanten lediglich einen Internetzugang und Browser, Anwender und Lieferanten wissen die einfache und übersichtliche Benutzeroberfläche der Lösung zu schätzen. Über die Cloud kommunizieren und wickeln die Lieferanten online mit der Messe Dienstleistungen ab. Bestellungen, die in SAP in Gang gesetzt wurden, erreichen sie auf diese Art über die FUTURA-Cloud überall, wo immer ein Internetanschluss zur Verfügung steht.

Die flexible Auftragsabwicklung und die enorme Arbeitserleichterung bei der Abrechnung, bedingt durch die tiefe Integration in SAP waren die Hauptgründe für unsere Entscheidung für FUTURA SRM.

Zu jeder Bestellung können Lieferanten ihre Leistungserfassungen oder Aufmaße der bereits geleisteten Arbeit online in FUTURA eintragen. Dafür greifen sie auf die Positionen aus ihrem Rahmenvertrag zurück, in dem die Preise für die einzelnen Leistungspositionen festgelegt sind. Ebenso prüfen und korrigieren die Auftraggeber in der Fachabteilung online die bereits erbrachte Leistung und geben sie ebenfalls online frei. Bis zur Freigabe ist eine beliebige Anzahl von Korrekturschleifen möglich.

Rechnungsprüfung wird überflüssing

Auch die Abrechnung hat sich stark vereinfacht und beschleunigt. „Da die Leistungen aus Rahmenverträgen mit fixierten Preisen übernommen werden, sind nur noch Mengenprüfungen notwendig,“ hebt Jutta Burckhardt als großen Vorteil der SAP-integrierten Dienstleistungsabwicklung hervor. Das heißt, dass die jeweilige Fachabteilung (also Anforderer der Dienstleistung) nur noch kontrolliert, ob die online eingetragenen Mengenansätze bzw. Aufmaße korrekt sind, etwa die verlegten Quadratmeter an Teppichen oder die Zahl der gelieferten Strahler. Sobald die entsprechenden Leistungserfassungen (LERF) freigeben sind, werden automatisch im SAP ERP-System der Messe Frankfurt die entsprechenden LERF-Blätter angelegt und automatisch in ein Gutschriftenverfahren überführt. Lieferanten und Dienstleister erhalten so innerhalb kürzester Zeit ihr Geld – im Gegensatz zu früher, wo leicht Wochen vergingen, weil die Papierrechnungen viele Stationen und Abteilungen durchlaufen mussten. „Für den Einkaufs- und Abrechnungsprozess bedeutet das eine enorme Zeiteinsparung“, betont die SAP-Koordinatorin.

Highlights

  • Lieferantenanbindung

    Einfache Lieferantenanbindung durch automatisches Onboarding

  • Mobile Auftragsabwicklung

    Dienstleister benötigen nur einen Internetzugang / Online-Prüfung der Leistungserfassungen

  • Revisionssicherer Abrechnungs- und Prüfungsprozess

    Automatische Anlage der LERF-Blätter in SAP

  • Korrekter Obligo-Abbau zur besseren Mittelfreigabe

    Rechnungsprüfung kann entfallen / Ermöglichen eines schnelleren Gutschriftverfahrens

Projekt-Eckdaten
  • Aufgabe Cloud-basierte Dienstleistungsabwicklung bei einem jährlichen Beschaffungsvolumen in Höhe 175 Mio. Euro und vollumfängliche Integration in das SAP ERP-System mit verschiedenen Modulen
  • Lösung Einführung von FUTURA SRM für die Cloud-basierte mobile Auftragsabwicklung und Onlineprüfung der Leistungserfassungen / Ermöglichen eines Gutschriftverfahrens
  • Einführung Produktivstart 2009 / Einführungszeitraum 4 Wochen
  • Branche Messe
  • Über die Messe Frankfurt Größtes deutsches Messebauunternehmen mit 538 Mio. Euro Umsatz (Stand 2012) und weltweit 1.891 Mitarbeitern / globales Netz aus 28 Tochtergesellschaften und rund 50 internationalen Vertriebspartnern / Anteilseigner sind die Stadt Frankfurt (60 Prozent) und das Land Hessen (40 Prozent)

 

 

Case Study Messe Frankfurt
SAP-integrierte Dienstleistungsabwicklung auf Knopfdruck

-> Case Study herunterladen (PDF)

Kurzer Draht zu uns

Ein FUTURA-Experte beantwortet gerne Ihre Fragen
+49 611 33 460 300

Nachricht

Weitere Informationen gewünscht? Kontaktieren Sie uns

Anwender-Support

Sie benötigen Unterstützung? Unser Support-Team hilft gerne weiter
+49 611 33 460 460