hamburger
close
Case Study BASF SE

Standardized e-sourcing application brings efficiency and cost savings

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study BASF SE

In the beginning of 2001, the e-sourcing platform myFUTURA took over the traditional handling of tendering between buyers and vendors, which at that time was still based on the exchange of tendering documents in paper or disk form. Initially, myFUTURA was only used for construction purchasing.

The agents of the BASF Competence Center “Global Purchasing” however, were not satisfied with the parallel usage of different electronic purchasing applications. Instead of using multiple platforms, all purchasers should be working with one product only. In addition to the desired standardization, further criteria were quickly added to the technical specifications, e.g. a product of industry-wide acceptance was required. Only a well-known, universally accepted software can gain the trust of all participants which is needed for overall success. Choosing the option of accessing the next application version via Application Service Providing (ASP) was connected to the same objective. Within the scope of this concept, Futura Solutions not only assumes the hosting and operation of the application, but also takes care of the whole supplier management (user administration). The usage-dependent account of charges was particularly enticing for BASF. “Thanks to the neutrality achieved by the ASP operation, our business partners can also be sure that we as purchasers are not able to interfere with the system to their detriment. This in turn is a significant contribution to confidence building and transparency”, says Karl May, project manager responsible for software selection.

Comprehensive screening

Based on these requirements, an interdisciplinary team of IT specialists and employees from various purchasing areas started a professional selection process. In the course of an intensive market investigation, more than 100 relevant supplier companies worldwide were subject to performance and product quality tests. The “top five” companies nominated for the final round had to demonstrate the capability of their products during a presentation and live demonstration on site.

The solid foundation and the expansion stages implemented during the project have created an excellent tool.

Just two months after opting for myFUTURA, the present area of application could be extended to other purchasing units. Expenses for administration and training have been reduced immensely by using only one application throughout all units of technical procurement. The application’s well-structured setup enables quick and interconnected work. For instance, a call for tender can be converted into an auction with a few mouse clicks. Moreover, different auction types are available and a variety of settings can be made exclusively for specific purchasing organizations. Each buyer can thus create and manage their own master file of suppliers which is an optimal provision for repetitive routine operations. In addition, the system leaves room for strategies that would not be practicable during traditional negotiations; this in turn leads to significant cost advantages.

Success within the BASF group

The e-sourcing application is tried and trusted across multiple countries in Europe, North and South America as well as in Asia. The purchasing units of technical procurement which are using the system currently cover about 50 percent of their procurement volume. Other purchasing units too, like packaging materials and raw materials, are currently testing myFUTURA for their areas of responsibility. According to the unanimous opinion of the project team, “The solid foundation and the expansion stages implemented during the project have created an excellent tool. It’s safe to assume that it still has great potential on the market”. Plans for the future include the expansion of additional functionalities, e.g. integration into SAP and further specific improvements like the international roll-out within the whole BASF group.

Highlights

  • Success induced by trust

    Broad acceptance by industry-wide usage

  • Quick introduction

    Very short introduction time – productive within 2 months

  • World-wide usage

    E-sourcing application for international usage

Project key data
  • Task Efficiency increase and time saving by means of digitized tendering processes
  • Solution E-sourcing application myFUTURA
  • Implementation Roll-out in 2001 / Implementation period: 2 months
  • Type of trade Chemical and pharmaceutical industries

Your direct line to us

More information needed? Please don´t hesitate to contact us
+49 611 33 460 300

Call-Back service

A FUTURA-expert will gladly answer your questions

User help

You need help? Our support-team will help you gladly
+49 611 33 460 460

hamburger
close
Case Study BASF SE

Einheitliche E-Sourcing-Lösung bringt Effizienz und Kosteneinsparungen

Bild zu FUTURA Case Study BASF SE

Anfang 2001 löste die E-Sourcing-Lösung myFUTURA das herkömmliche Handling zwischen Einkäufern und den Lieferanten ab, Ausschreibungsunterlagen noch in Papier- oder Diskettenform auszutauschen. Dabei kam myFUTURA zunächst nur im Bereich des Baueinkaufs zum Einsatz.

Mit der parallelen Nutzung unterschiedlicher elektronischer Einkaufslösungen waren die Verantwortlichen des BASF-Kompetenzcenters „Global Purchasing“ jedoch nicht zufrieden. Statt der Verwendung von mehreren Plattformen sollten alle Einkaufsmitarbeiter mit nur einem Produkt arbeiten. Zur gewünschten Vereinheitlichung kamen schnell noch weitere Kriterien im Pflichtenheft hinzu, wie z. B. der Wunsch nach einem branchenweit anerkannten Produkt. Denn erst durch eine bekannte und allseits akzeptierte Software kann das für einen Gesamterfolg notwendige Vertrauen bei den Beteiligten aufkommen. Dem gleichen Ziel diente auch der Wunsch von BASF, per Application Service Providing (ASP) auf die spätere Software-Lösung zuzugreifen. Im Rahmen dieses Cloud-Konzepts übernimmt Futura Solutions nicht nur das Hosting und den Betrieb der Lösung, sondern auch das komplette Lieferantenmanagement (Nutzerverwaltung). Besonders attraktiv ist für BASF hierbei die nutzungsabhängige Kostenabrechnung. „Durch die im ASP-Betrieb erreichte Neutralität können unsere Geschäftspartner zudem auch sicher sein, dass wir als Einkäufer nicht zu deren Nachteil in das System eingreifen können. Das wiederum trägt erheblich zu Vertrauensbildung und Transparenz bei“, erklärt Karl May, der als Projektverantwortlicher die Software-Auswahl koordinierte.

Umfassendes Screening

Auf den genannten Anforderungen basierend startete ein interdisziplinäres Team aus IT-Fachleuten und Mitarbeitern verschiedener Einkaufsbereiche einen professionellen Auswahlprozess. Im Rahmen einer intensiven Marktuntersuchung wurden über 100 relevante Anbieterfirmen weltweit auf ihre Leistungsfähigkeit und die Qualität ihrer Produkte überprüft. Die für die Endrunde ermittelte „Spitzengruppe“ von fünf Firmen musste bei einer Präsentation und Live-Demonstration vor Ort die Leistungsfähigkeit ihrer Produkte unter Beweis stellen.

Durch die solide Basis und die im Projekt realisierten Ausbaustufen ist ein hervorragendes Werkzeug entstanden.

Nur zwei Monate nach der Entscheidung für myFUTURA konnte der bisherige Einsatzbereich auf andere Einkaufseinheiten ausgedehnt werden. Durch den Einsatz nur eines Tools für sämtliche Einheiten der technischen Beschaffung wurde der Administrations- und Schulungsaufwand immens reduziert. Der gut strukturierte Aufbau der Lösung erlaubt ein beschleunigtes und vernetztes Arbeiten. Zum Beispiel lässt sich eine Ausschreibung durch ein paar Mausklicks direkt in eine Auktion überführen. Außerdem können verschiedene Auktionsarten ausgewählt und eine Vielzahl an Einstellungsvarianten für spezifische Einkaufsorganisationen vorgenommen werden. Jeder Einkäufer kann sich so seinen eigenen Lieferantenstamm anlegen und verwalten. Sich wiederholende Routineabläufe werden dadurch optimal vorbereitet. Dazu erlaubt das System die Umsetzung von Strategien, die im Rahmen von normalen Verhandlungen nicht realisierbar wären, was wiederum zu deutlichen Kostenvorteilen führt.

Erfolg innerhalb der BASF-Gruppe

Die E-Sourcing-Lösung bewährt sich in mehreren Ländern in Europa in Nord- und Südamerika, wie auch in Asien im täglichen Einsatz. Die Einkaufseinheiten in der technischen Beschaffung, die das System nutzen, decken zurzeit ca. 50 Prozent ihres Beschaffungsvolumens ab. Auch andere Einkaufseinheiten (Packmittel, Rohstoffe) sind z. Z. dabei, myFUTURA für ihre Verantwortungsbereiche zu testen. „Durch die solide Basis und die im Projekt realisierten Ausbaustufen ist ein hervorragendes Werkzeug entstanden. Wir gehen davon aus, dass es noch großes Potenzial am Markt hat“, so die übereinstimmende Meinung des Projektteams. Für die Zukunft steht neben dem Ausbau zusätzlicher Funktionalitäten, wie beispielsweise die Integration in die SAP-Systeme und weiteren gezielten Verbesserungen vor allem der flächendeckende und internationale Roll-out in der gesamten BASF Gruppe auf dem Programm.

Highlights

  • Erfolg durch Vertrauen

    Breite Akzeptanz durch branchenweit anerkannte Anwendung

  • Schnelle Einführung der Cloud-Lösung

    Sehr kurze Einführungszeit – in nur zwei Monaten produktiv

  • Weltweiter Einsatz

    E-Sourcing Lösung für den internationalen Einsatz

Projekteckdaten
  • Aufgabe Effizienzsteigerung und Zeitersparnis durch digitalisierte Ausschreibungsprozesse
  • Lösung E-Sourcing-Lösung myFUTURA
  • Einführung Produktivstart 2001 / Einführungszeitraum: 2 Monate
  • Branche Chemie / Pharma

Kurzer Draht zu uns

Weitere Informationen gewünscht? Kontaktieren Sie uns
+49 611 33 460 300

Rückruf-Service

Ein FUTURA-Experte beantwortet gerne Ihre Fragen

1 / 6

Anwender-Support

Sie benötigen Unterstützung? Unser Support-Team hilft gerne weiter
+49 611 33 460 460